7th Mivos/Kanter String Quartet Composition Prize 2017


The Mivos/Kanter String Quartet Composition Prize was established in 2011 to support the work of emerging and mid-career composers and to encourage continued interest in new compositions for string quartet. The winning composer, selected from over one hundred applicants, receives a cash prize and a performance of their work in New York City by the Mivos Quartet.

The Mivos/Kanter Prize is made possible through the generous contributions of Carl Kanter.

2018 Prize: Opening April 1, 2018

Previous Winners:

2011: Felipe Lara "Corde Vocale"
2012: Chris Fisher-Lochhead "Dig Absolutely"
2013: Taylor Brook "El jardin de senderos que se bifurcan"
2014: Andrew Greenwald "a thing is a hole in a thing it is not"
2015: Yvonne Wu "Utterance"
2016: Matthew Ricketts"In Partial View"
2017: Jon Yu "o reche modo" (to be performed in 2018)

2017 Kanter Prize Concert:
March 26, 2018
7:00PM, Metropolis Ensemble
1 Rivington Street
New York, New York


Please direct all inquiries to mivoskanterprize@gmail.com